rakuyou

Oolong's Art & Design

Fireworks at Sundown

I’ve had this gesso-ed canvas sitting around for perhaps 2.5 years and I finally got around to doing something with it.

I wanted to challenge myself and use purple, my most disliked color. I laid down the blue and magenta as palette knife streaks and overlapped at the center to make a royal purple. But it looked really crappy and not at all what I wanted to go for, so I took a paper towel to wipe off the paint and start over. However, as I started smearing the paint vertically, it started looking interesting. So then I sprayed water over it and waited for the pigment to dissolve. I wiped off more paint and the white droplets began to stand out. Then I started dripping water down the canvas for the dripping effect and kept washing away the pigment until it was near white.
I kept doing this, but didn’t know what to do with it. Then my housemate/friend who is also an artist told me it looks like fireworks. I stared at it and what do you know, it does! So I want to work off of that idea. Thanks Aimee.
Hopefully, I can finish this within reasonable time…
Media: Acrylics

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 17, 2009 by in Painting, WIP.

ARCHIVE

CONTENT

All rights reserved. All images are copyrighted and cannot be reproduced without prior written permission from the owner.
