rakuyou

Oolong's Art & Design

Uniqlo: Global Flagship

Uniqlo is a famous Japanese clothing brand that has spread its retail stores across the globe. They’re known for their very simple, yet bold design. I love their catalogues and advertisements because it follows that aesthetic. Though its cleanliness and organization reminds me of the Swiss design style, it is still Japanese.

This is a screenshot from their Global Flagship Store website. It’s constantly moving and ticking and represents the countdown. Though the main site itself is hard to follow because of its constant movement, it just cycles through the same information, so you don’t miss anything. And the ticking can be annoying, but at least it’s not a typical ticking. I think it’s kinda catchy and reminds me of Katamari Damacy’s soundtrack…

They’ve chosen Japanese soccer star, Keisuke Honda, who in the 2010 World Cup brought the shocking success to the Japanese team in which even Japanese people had no hope for. (I must admit that I was one of the doubters too.) I really like their pick for the model for one. The opening commercial is a motivational improvised speech and it reminds me of the 5 Friends commercial. But I especially like how Honda is the main person because he is a role model. He’s not just some pretty boy model, or an actor who starred in some cool movie or a comedian who jokes about crude topics, etc. He’s actually one of today’s biggest heroes of Japan. Everyone respects him, looks up to him, and believes in him. I really hate it when a brand uses a famous person just for enticement, not for their actual values.

Another thing I like is that the website is so interactive. You put your cursor over something, it affects the type or the image or the video. Not really easy on your eyes, but it’s very entertaining and encourages exploration of the site. And very simple, but eye-catching layout.

However, it’s a bit of a fashion site cliche. There’s nothing about the layout of the store section that I haven’t seen before, but then again, there’s only so many ways you can do it. PUMA also uses the slightly off-white background with sans-serif typeface. Though it’s not completely the same and people who aren’t completely familiar with PUMA wouldn’t make the correlation, I think it looks too similar. Also, even though I love Honda, I’m not sure what the motivational speech has to do with their new global store opening in Shinsaibashi. Maybe it has to do something with being ambitious? I’m not sure. But if it had something to do with some kind of global cause, I think it’d make more sense.

Overall, I think it’s a fun site to explore with really popping colors and type. But it’s a little too busy and confusing to relate the intro to the site’s intentions.

Damn, I really feel like buying Uniqlo clothing… I guess their advertisements to persuade people to buy their products is working.

2 comments on “Uniqlo: Global Flagship

  1. designAsshole
    September 27, 2010

    didnt they also do some anime t-shirts a while back?

    • Oolong
      September 27, 2010

      I do believe so. I wish there were a Uniqlo store here on the West Coast.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 27, 2010 by in Design Discussion, Fashion, Japan, Webdesign.

ARCHIVE

CONTENT

All rights reserved. All images are copyrighted and cannot be reproduced without prior written permission from the owner.
