rakuyou

Oolong's Art & Design

Underwater Colors

UnderwaterColorsWeb

My first recorded speedpainting.

Was inspired by Agnes Cecil (http://youtu.be/golBymjXor4) for the watercolor effects and motivated by Ayaponista (http://www.youtube.com/user/Ayaponista) to actually record it. Go check out their videos, they’re so well done.

It was a lot of fun painting this. Although I’m not entirely happy with his face because I drew it crooked. But that’s okay. I usually don’t experiment that much with colors and I’m glad I added skin tone to his blue skin. He looked like a smurf.

I based this off of an old drawing I did in maybe 2009, but never finished it. What a craptastic image. Instead of incorporating the goldfish into the shirt, I incorporated it into the background.

This is the original photo from vol. 389 of Rockin’ on Japan magazine. I don’t know who he is. I could just read the magazine and tell you, but I’m lazy right now.

Media: Pencil, watercolors
Time: 3 hours

6 comments on “Underwater Colors

  1. Lunch Sketch
    October 6, 2012

    Clever! Really like the time-lapse and music too🙂

    • Oolong
      October 6, 2012

      Thanks! I like calming music like those two songs when painting. And if it weren’t for time lapse, this video would’ve been unbearably long.

  2. kawashimadesigns
    November 8, 2012

    2 thumbs up…and I would give you more if I had any. Cheers.

    • Oolong
      November 8, 2012

      Haha, too bad for the constraint of only having 2 hands. Thanks!!

  3. ~jeaks
    November 12, 2012

    wow! this is coool!!

    • Oolong
      November 12, 2012

      Thank you very much! : D

Leave a Reply

ARCHIVE

CONTENT

All rights reserved. All images are copyrighted and cannot be reproduced without prior written permission from the owner.
