rakuyou

Oolong's Art & Design

Ceremonial

Don’t have any new art to show today, just felt nostalgic and found an old piece from high school.

GeishaAndKois2

 

This was originally made for my concentration portfolio senior year of high school in AP Art. That was 7 years ago. Damn. I’m getting old.

In terms of technical skills, this wasn’t really made that well. I wish I would’ve paid more attention to detail on the left side with the delicate watercolors. But I like how the kois turned out. And instead of drawing the geisha’s cheek and neck, I wish I would’ve done the back of the neck with an intricate kanzashi. Oh well. This was the first painting I had ever sold in my life and I was so proud. I sold it to my art teacher’s mom, who still has this piece hanging in her house.

Which also reminds me, an old pal from high school showed me a print I gave him when we were all parting ways for college. I’m amazed that he still has it. Which then make me wonder if people still have the drawings I gave them throughout my youth. It’s strange to run into my old pieces, but it makes me incredibly happy to know that these people treasured my creations and it keeps me going through tough times in my creative endeavors.

So, I hope you’ve enjoyed my artworks and thank you for your support. I hope that you continue to visit periodically and if I do inspire you in anyway, please let me know. I’d like to see what you’re making.

Media: Watercolors, acrylics, Prismacolor pencils, collage

3 comments on “Ceremonial

  1. phoenolf
    May 14, 2013

    the colors are so beautiful and gentle to the eyes OwO

    • Oolong
      May 14, 2013

      Thank you very much! I kinda want to rework it a little, but I should probably just leave it be.

      • phoenolf
        May 14, 2013

        yes you should (fight all of your urges that tells you so >w<)

Leave a Reply

ARCHIVE

CONTENT

All rights reserved. All images are copyrighted and cannot be reproduced without prior written permission from the owner.
