rakuyou

Oolong's Art & Design

RS 3/5

IMAG1943

An illustration I started on a little while ago. It’s of my favorite band, Rip Slyme, a Japanese hip hop group. I started listening to them around high school and I don’t get tired of listening to them. I really enjoy their wacky and silly approach to not only music, but also visuals. I’ve been meaning to do an illustration of them for several years, but never did. I’m really trying to get back into the groove of drawing and making complete compositions, so I forced myself to make this happen. The original image is from Rockin’ On Japan, a magazine where a lot of my photo references come from.

From left to right: Su, Ilmari, and DJ Fumiya. They’re my top 3 favorites. Sorry Pes and Ryo-Z. I think I will draw them eventually and add them together in Photoshop.

I have no idea how I’ll color this, but I think I’ll just continue with ink and draw in patterns for them and then perhaps color them with the very limited number of Copic markers I have.

Su and Fumiya look like themselves, but Ilmari doesn’t seem right. I might try to rework his face later.

Media: Graphite, Copic Multiliner 0.05mm & 0.1mm
Time: Sketch – 40min, ink – roughly 2.5 hours
Inspiration: RIP SLYME music, of course

Leave a Reply

ARCHIVE

CONTENT

All rights reserved. All images are copyrighted and cannot be reproduced without prior written permission from the owner.
